Monkey Eats More Than Just Bananas

Eating Healthy and Exercising

Keeping up my Heart rate May 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — monkeyeats @ 8:04 pm

Hello All!

Today started with my usual spinach and mushroom omelette. However today I just had one egg and one egg white and I added a slice of dry ezekiel toast. It kept me full most of the morning.

img_7773

Around 11 I was hungry but I desperately needed to go to the grocery store. I had just enough spinach left to make a salad.

img_7779

At the grocery store I picked up a brown rice salmon and avocado roll. I finished it off with a Lemon Larabar.

This afternoon was chilly here with the dreary rainy weather, so I put a pot of coffee on and had that with skim milk and a few drops of stevia.

Then it was gym time. Todays work out comes from The Fitnessista and her Summer Shape Up Challenge which you can check out here. Today was day 2. What a great workout! The intervals between cardio and strength training really kept my heart rate up. I was only able to do three push-ups though. Hopefully by the end of this challenge I’ll be able to do a lot more.

For Cinco de Mayo dinner tonight I made soft chicken tacos. I made a spread of plain yogurt with lime juice and cumin. Plain yogurt is so versatile for making creamy sauces, its a great substitue for sour cream. Added some chicken, cilantro and spinach. Yum! I also made Garlicky Pinto beans the recipe can be found here.

img_7783

How did you celebrate Cinco de Mayo?

Check out Danica’s Daily for a great Annies Mac and Cheese giveaway.

 

One Response to “Keeping up my Heart rate”

  1. Danica Says:

    Yum – avocado makes everything better!

    Thanks for the Annie’s contest shout out – good luck!


Leave a Reply

