Monkey Eats More Than Just Bananas

Eating Healthy and Exercising

Black Bean Burger Recipe May 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — monkeyeats @ 8:36 pm

I woke up a little sore from my work-out yesturday, after I got moving I felt fine though.

I had my spinach and mushroom omelette with one egg and one egg white and a half ounce of 2% Mexican cheese. Yesturday when I was at the store I picked up some Strawberry All Fruit, so I had a tablespoon on my Ezekiel toast.

img_7786

Later I had a cup of coffee with skim milk and stevia to warm me up. Though it did warm up outside to day, it takes awhile for the inside of the house to warm up.

For Lunch I had leftover beans from last night, and leftover rice from Monday and a big salad.

img_7787

About an hour before I went to the gym I snacked on 5 strawberries. At the gym I did day 3 of the Fitnessistas Summer Shape Up. Today was intervals on the elliptical, I did pretty well though by the end I was getting tired and my sprints weren’t quite as fast.

I came home and made black bean burgers for dinner.

img_7791

Black Bean Burgers

1/4 cup diced red onion
4 pickled jalepeno slices
1/4 cup frozen corn
1 sliced clove of garlic
1/3 cup cilantro
1 can black beans drained and rinsed
1 slice of bread
1 egg
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder

Saute the onion, jalapeno, red onion, garlic and corn until the onions are soft. Meanwhile process bread slice in the food processor to make fresh bread crumbs and transfer to a large bowl.

Put sauted vegetables in food processor and pulse a few times. Add cilantro and pulse a few more times. Add beans and pulse a few times, you want to have pieces of bean, don’t process so much that its a paste.

Place contents of food processor in the bowl with the bread crumbs and add the remaining ingredients and mix. Score the mixture to make 4 burgers, shape and place in a non stick pan preheated to medium heat. Cook 6 min each side.

I served mine on a tortilla with the taco sauce from last night (plain yogurt, lime juice and cumin) and avocado. I also had another salad with Light Lime Vinegrette.

Hubby also enjoyed the dinner.

img_7795

Ok, maybe that picture is a little scary.

What did you have for dinner tonight?

 

Leave a Reply

