Monkey Eats More Than Just Bananas

Eating Healthy and Exercising

CSA Bounty June 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — monkeyeats @ 2:24 pm

When we moved here last year one of the exciting things was that there was a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) farm nearby. Unfortunately last year they had already sold all there shares when we moved in March. This year I was determined to get a share. I signed up really early for my summer produce. The farm while not certified organic has signed a pledge to adhere to organic practices.

This weeks haul:

IMG_7907

1 head of lettuce
2 pac choi
broccoli rabe
2 stalks green garlic
2 quarts of strawberries

The snap peas and shelling peas weren’t doing as well, so they were just for tasting. I picked a few and brought them home to share with hubby.

IMG_7908

I don’t think I’ve tasted strawberries this good in a long time. I got to pick them myself and they are yummy. Strawberries are my all time favorite fruit. I look forward to them every year. I like them plain, though. I don’t like to make fancy desserts with them, I just want to eat them au natural.

I’ve been really excited to be a part of the CSA this year. Not only am I getting great “organic” produce, but I’m supporting a local farm as well.

You can find a local CSA here.

 

2 Responses to “CSA Bounty”

  1. Priyanka Says:

    Great picks! I love strawberries myself and can never get enough of them!

  2. Thanks for the CSA link. I was just talking to someone about trying to find a local one. Perfect timing!


Leave a Reply

