Monkey Eats More Than Just Bananas

Eating Healthy and Exercising

Coconut Lime Cranberry Granola Bars June 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — monkeyeats @ 6:18 pm
Tags:

Have you seen Rachael’s contest over at Coconut & Lime. You can win a Vita-Mix Blender. I saw that and remembered my struggle this morning to blend my green monster. To enter you need to create a recipe with none other than coconut and lime. What could I make with coconut and lime?

Well one of my favorite larabars is Key Lime. And I really enjoyed the granola bars that I made earlier this week from Oh She Glows. Could I make a coconut and lime version?

Turns out I can.

IMG_7915

IMG_7916

IMG_7919

C(oconut) L(ime) C(ranberry) Granola Bars

1.5 cups oats
¼ cup ground flax seed
¼ cup sesame seeds
¾ cup unsweetened coconut
¼ cup chopped raw almonds
¼ cup craisins
Zest of 1 lime
Juice of 1 lime
¾ cup brown rice syrup
½ tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. almond extract
2 T. natural cane sugar
¼ cup almond butter

Mix first six ingredients in a large bowl. Combine the remaining ingredients in a saucepan on the stove over medium heat consistently stiring. Heat to boiling, lower heat to low and continue stirring for 3-4 minutes, until mixture thickens slightly. Remove from heat and add to dry ingredients. Stir to combine. Press mixture into a baking dish (I used an 8×8 pan. Allow to cool. Cut into 16 bars.

The CLC granola bars are wicked good! You have to try them yourself. You might want to try pressing a few tablespoons of sweetened coconut on top for some extra coconut flavor.